The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Friday updated its guidance related to the recent announcement that Medicare audit contractors will not deny certain Part B physician fee schedule claims based solely on the specificity of the ICD-10 code for 12 months after ICD-10 implementation. The guidance answers frequently asked questions about the July 6 announcement, which also dealt with related quality reporting flexibility. Health care claims must include ICD-10 codes for medical diagnoses and inpatient hospital procedures beginning Oct. 1. For more on the transition to ICD-10, visit or

Related News Articles

The Centers for Medicare…
Wendy Macias-Konstantopoulos, M.D., director of Massachusetts General Hospital’s Human Trafficking Initiative, shares how clinicians are key to stopping the…
Starting today, health care providers can use any of 29 ICD-10 diagnostic codes to identify and document victims of human trafficking.
Chairperson's File
Today, new ICD-10-CM codes take effect so clinicians can better classify a diagnosis for patients who are victims of human trafficking.
Insights and Analysis
Next week, 29 unique ICD-10-CM codes will be available for data collection on adult or child forced labor or sexual exploitation, either confirmed or suspected…
Insights and Analysis
On Oct. 1, new ICD-10 codes will be available to allow providers to identify and assist victims of human trafficking and coding professionals to translate that…