AHA Announces Annual Membership Awards for 2017

The American Hospital Association (AHA) announced today several awards that the AHA and its affiliated organizations will present during its 2017 Annual Membership meeting in Washington, May 7-10.

Press Release

AHA Announces Annual Membership Awards

The American Hospital Association (AHA) announced today several awards that the AHA and its affiliated organizations will present during its 2017 Annual Membership meeting in Washington, May 7-10.

The award honorees include:

Richard J. Umbdenstock to Receive AHA Distinguished Service Award

The American Hospital Association (AHA) will present its highest honor, the Distinguished Service Award, to Richard J. Umbdenstock, president emeritus, American Hospital Association. This award recognizes significant lifetime contributions and service to health care institutions and associations.

Kris Doody, RN and Daniel L. Gross, RN to Receive AHA Board of Trustees Award

The AHA will present Kris Doody, RN, CEO, Cary Medical Center in Caribou, Maine, and Daniel L. Gross, RN, executive vice president, Sharp HealthCare in San Diego

with its Board of Trustees Award. The award is presented to individuals or groups who have made substantial and noteworthy contributions to the work of the AHA.

Joel Allison and Douglas Leonard to Receive AHA’s Award of Honor

The AHA will present its Award of Honor to Joel T. Allison, retired president and CEO, Baylor Scott & White Health in Dallas, and Douglas J. Leonard, president, Indiana Hospital Association. The award is given to organizations and individuals in recognition of exemplary contributions to the health and well-being of people through leadership on major health policies or social initiatives.

James Weinstein to be Presented the AHA Justin Ford Kimball Innovators Award

The AHA will present its Justin Ford Kimball Innovators Award to James N. Weinstein, DO, MS, CEO and president, Dartmouth-Hitchcock health system based in Lebanon, N.H. The award recognizes people or organizations that have developed or introduced an influential, innovative approach to health care financing and/or health care delivery to improve access or coordination of care.

AHA to Honor Four Hospital Volunteer Programs with HAVE Award

The AHA honors four hospital volunteer programs with the Hospital Awards for Volunteer Excellence (HAVE). The AHA HAVE Awards Program is in its 34th year and highlights the extraordinary efforts of volunteer programs and the positive impact their contributions have on the patients, hospitals, health systems and communities they serve.

The winners are:

Community Service

  • Camp Charlie, Abington-Jefferson Health, Willow Grove, Pa.

Community Outreach and/or Collaboration

  • AOMC Poison Prevention Program, Arnot Ogden Medical Center, Elmira, N.Y.


  • Friends of the Heart, Doylestown Health, Doylestown, Pa.

In-Service Hospital

  • Hospital Elder Life Program, Clara Maass Medical Center, Belleville, N.J.

About the AHA

The AHA is a not-for-profit association of health care provider organizations and individuals that are committed to the health improvement of their communities. The AHA is the national advocate for its members, which include nearly 5,000 hospitals, health care systems, networks, other providers of care and 43,000 individual members. Founded in 1898, the AHA provides education for health care leaders and is a source of information on health care issues and trends. For more information, visit the AHA website at www.aha.org.

Related Resources

Issue Landing Page
Introduction Health care is changing as never before.
The AHA data book on health care affordability includes customizable slides that provide an overview
Introduction Hospitals and health systems are responsible for protecting the privacy and confidentiality of their patients and patient in
Case Studies
Augusta Health dramatically improved patient outcomes and reduced readmissions with its own automated sepsis surveillance system. When a patient’s condition…
Press Releases
The American Hospital Association (AHA) today announced that John Riggi has joined the association as Senior Advisor for Cybersecurity and Risk.