Event Format

Webinar

Date

Wed, Dec 08, 2021, 12:00 PM – Wed, Dec 08, 2021, 01:00 PM

Cost

Free

Type

Webinars

Event Host

Contact Information

AHA Team Training
312-422-2609

Open To

Members and Non-members

Description

Wednesday, December 8 at 1:00 pm ET (12:00 pm CT, 11:00 am MT, 10:00 am PT)

Implementing a multidisciplinary approach to infection control can be powerful. Join Dr. Abigail Carlson, Medical Officer for the Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and Kristen Hayes, Director, Clinical Quality, AHA Center for Health Innovation, American Hospital Association (AHA) for a discussion on the importance of multidisciplinary teams and teamwork and communication in improving infection prevention and control. Learn more about a new resource developed from the CDC’s Project Firstline, the TeamSTEPPS Video Toolkit, and how these videos can be used with health care teams to strengthen infection prevention and control (IPC) efforts.

On this webinar, the AHA and CDC will also provide an overview of Project Firstline, CDC’s national training collaborative for IPC. AHA is proud to partner with Project Firstline, to offer hospitals and health systems the tools and resources needed to engage all stakeholders around IPC – from bedside nurses to administrators to environmental staff. The speakers will share several Project Firstline resources that have been developed with a variety of heath care workers in mind, identify what the most pressing needs are in IPC in their facility, and offer examples on how health care workers can begin to use these tools today.

This webinar is a preview for one of the breakout presentations at the upcoming Advancing Care Conference brought to you by AHA Team Training. Learn more about the March 7-9, 2022 conference in Chicago.

Learning Objectives:

  • Introduce CDC’s Project Firstline and goals
  • Outline Project Firstline resources, including the TeamSTEPPS Video Toolkit, and how these can tools can support the infection and prevention control efforts in your hospital/health care facility
  • Discuss the importance of multidisciplinary teams and communication in infection control and prevention

Speakers:

  • Kristen Hayes, MS, RN, CPHQ
    Director, Clinical Quality, AHA Center for Health Innovation, American Hospital Association
  • Dr. Abigail Carlson, MD
    Medical Officer, Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention