Archive of the 2022-2023 Next Gen Fellows

The Next Generation Leaders Fellowship welcomed a class of up to 41 talented health care leaders each year, including 10 Age-Friendly Health System scholarship recipients. During the 12-month fellowship program, participants hone essential skills, such as expanding innovation capacity, driving organizational change and digital transformation, and leading the shift from health care to well care.

The John A. Hartford Foundation is providing scholarships for a cohort of Age-Friendly Fellows. These fellows will be asked to implement the Age-Friendly Health Systems 4Ms Framework at their organization for their capstone project in the fellowship program.

Ashley Abbondandolo

Ashley Abbondandolo, MHA

Director, Business Development & Physician Relations

Memorial Healthcare System


Michael Backus

Michael Backus, MPA

Chief Operating Officer & Executive Vice President

Oswego Health


Vernee Belcher

Vernee Belcher, MD, FACP

Hospitalist and Assistant Clinical Professor

Duke University

Age-Friendly Scholarship Recipient

Floye Bradford

Floye Bradford, MS, MSN, RN, CPHQ

Director Quality

Northern Arizona Healthcare


William Bryant

William Bryant, DNP, MBA, BSN, RN, CNOR, NE-BC

Vice President, Perioperative Services



Leigh Caswell

Leigh Caswell, MPH

Vice President, Community Health

Presbyterian Healthcare Services


Katie Chieda

Katie Chieda, MSN/MBA, BSN, RN, CENP

Chief Nursing Officer

Fisher-Titus Health


Linsey Coster

Linsey Coster, LMSW

Vice President Business Operations

Ascension Via Christi Hospitals


Deepa Dierickx

Deepa Dierickx, MSOTR/L

Outpatient Therapy Manager

Craig Hospital


Karen Fon

Karen Fon, MSN, MBA, RN, NEA-BC

Senior Director, Nursing

White Plains Hospital


Danielle Gabele

Danielle Gabele, RN

Chief Nursing Officer

Cedars-Sinai Marina del Rey Hospital


Adam Gobin

Adam Gobin, MPH, MBA

Assistant Vice President, Revenue Cycle

Wellstar Health System


Danneil Hamilton

Danneil Hamilton

Associate Director

NYC Health + Hospitals/Elmhurst


Brynn Harris

Brynn Harris, MPH

Senior Projects and Office Manager to the Chief Executive Officer

University of Utah Health


Kenyatta Hazlewood

Kenyatta Hazlewood, MPH, BSHS, BSN, RN

Trauma Program Director

Howard University

Age-Friendly Scholarship Recipient

Shivani Jinda

Shivani Jindal, MD, MPH


VA Boston Healthcare System

Age-Friendly Scholarship Recipient

Caitlin Jones

Caitlin Jones, MD

Assistant Professor

Atrium Health Wake Forest Baptist

Age-Friendly Scholarship Recipient

Chris Keeley

Chris Keeley, MUP

Ambulatory Care Chief Operating Officer

NYC Health + Hospitals


Jackie Lannan

Jackie Lannan, BS, BSN, RN

Director, Nursing

Ascension St. Vincent Evansville


Ernest Mandel

Ernest Mandel, MD, MS

Medical Director of Quality and Safety

Hebrew Rehabilitation Center

Age-Friendly Scholarship Recipient

Barbara Martin

Barbara Martin, PhD, APRN, ACNP-BC, MPH

System Senior Vice President,

Advanced Practice CommonSpirit Health


Lyndsy McIntyre

Lyndsy McIntyre, MBA, MSN, RN

Vice President of Patient Care Services, Chief Nursing Officer

Springfield Hospital


Taylor McMahon

Taylor McMahon, RN

Assistant Director of Nursing–Education and Development

Presbyterian SeniorCare Network

Age-Friendly Scholarship Recipient

Tiffany Morales

Tiffany Morales, PMP

Senior Project Manager

Stanford Health Care

Age-Friendly Scholarship Recipient

Krystal Moyers

Krystal Moyers, MEd, CHES

Administrative Director of Community Outreach and Partnerships

Augusta Health


Rachel Murkofsky

Rachel Murkofsky, MD, MPH

Chief, Spinal Cord Injury & Disorders and Rehabilitation

VA Pacific Islands

Age-Friendly Scholarship Recipient

Kimberly Pfeifer

Kimberly Pfeifer, MHSA, SSBB

Director, Quality Optimization and Regulatory Reporting

Henry Ford Health


Jennifer Poole

Jennifer Poole, DO, MS

Palliative Care Physician and Medical Director of Inpatient Hospice Program



Lillian Powell

Lillian Powell, MBA, MPH

Director, Administration, Connected Care



Alex Pucci

Alex Pucci, MFin, PMP

Assistant Vice President, Corporate Strategy

Baptist Health South Florida


Jonathan Rosenthal

Jonathan Rosenthal, MHA

Market Director, Clinical Operations

Ascension Illinois


Praveen Shanbhag

Praveen Shanbhag, MHA

Vice President for Strategy, Business Development and Digital Transformation

Main Line Health


David Steuer

David Steuer

Director, Strategic Design

UCSF Center for Digital Health Innovation


Wade Swenson

Wade Swenson, MD, MPH

Medical Director

Lake Region Healthcare

Age-Friendly Scholarship Recipient

Ryan Thompson

Ryan Thompson, MBA

Chief Operating Officer

Rome Health


Kristen Vargo

Kristen Vargo, DNP, RN, NE-BC

Director of Nursing, Neurological and Orthopaedic & Rheumatology Institutes

Cleveland Clinic


Iran Villarreal-De Los Santos

Iran Villarreal-De Los Santos, BSN, RN

Assistant Chief Nursing Officer

El Centro Regional Medical Center


Nada Wakim

Nada Wakim, PhD, RN, NE-BC

AVP of Nursing

South Miami Hospital


Donna Wellington

Donna Wellington, MBA, BSN, RN

Vice President, System Primary Health and Chief Operating Officer, Behavioral Health Services

Henry Ford Health


Nathan Ziegler

Nathan Ziegler, PhD, MA, BA

System Vice President, Diversity, Leadership, and Performance Excellence

CommonSpirit Health


Andrew Zwers

Andrew Zwers, MHA


PIH Health

Age-Friendly Scholarship Recipient